Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Hey everyone! 2018 will be an exciting year for me as I have two new full album projects being released. The first one is entitled JK Northrup/David Cagle "That's Gonna Leave a Mark" and will be released via Melodic Rock Records on March 30. This is a melodic hard rock album that is full of big guitar riffs and catchy melodies and contains something for all fans of rock: radio-friendly rock tunes, ballads, up-tempo rockers, and more. Additional musicians include: Larry Hart (bass), Steve Brown (drums), Eric Ragno (keys), and a few guest backing vocalists (Kelly Keeling, Richard Kendrick). Pre-orders and song samples are available HERE  Please help support our music!

The other full album I'm currently recording final vocals on is Marty and the Bad Punch's sophomore release "Walk a Straight Line." Returning musicians from the first album are Robert Karasek (keys), Marty Punsch (guitars), Martin Motnik (bass), and myself on vocals. The newcomer on the album is drummer and producer Carsten Enghardt (Endfield, 1st Take Studio). This album continues the classic rock feel of the first (Moon Over Baskerville) but, in my opinion, has an elevated level of maturity in its songwriting. That's not to take away anything from the first album - which is great (definitely check it out if you haven't)! We are hoping for a Fall 2018 release. Stay tuned!

Follow my FB page to keep up with my latest vocal recording news David Cagle facebook


Friday, March 11, 2016

Marty and the Bad Punch LIVE! in Germany

In December of 2015 I was invited to perform live with Marty and the Bad Punch at the 33rd annual German Rock and Pop Awards show in Siegen, Germany.  I had a blast performing with the guys and we ended up winning 4 awards:

"Best Rock Album 2015"
"Best Rock Song 2015"...

"Best Song (int.) 2015"
"Best CD-Album (int.) 2015"

My wife and I had an amazing week with our German friends and can't wait to go back and visit them again. Thanks Marty for a week we'll never forget!

Check out some pictures from our performance!





Saturday, September 20, 2014

Sept. 2014 update

2014 has been a great year for me thus far. I've been fortunate to be a part of 3 full length rock album releases this year: Liberty N' Justice - The Vow, Brannon - Welton St., and Marty and the Bad Punch - Moon Over Baskerville (due out in Oct.). I sing lead vocals on all three albums and backing vocals on most songs as well. Some other releases this year that feature my vocals are: JK Northrup and Friends - A Collection of Duets and Ballads, Majestic - Epsilon 1, and Majestic - Epsilon 2. I was also asked to participate in a new original Rock Opera (details are currently confidential), on which I sing 6 songs. The arrangements, production, and songwriting are amazing. It features some of my best vocal work to date. I hope to unveil details later this year or early next year. I've also been working with lots of new clients on some cool projects that will most likely continue into next year.

Check out the artwork for this year's releases featuring my vocals below. These albums are all available via iTunes and/or amazon mp3.

Thank you for following my work!


Friday, March 21, 2014

Cornelius - my 3rd original kid's song!

I'm finally getting around to sharing another original kid's tune - "Cornelius the Amphicoelias." I've been so busy with vocal work the past year I haven't had time to write more children's music, but I certainly haven't forgotten about it. This was recorded back in 2012. My daughter, 4 at the time of recording, also sings on it. Enjoy!

Cornelius the Amphicoelias

Sunday, June 23, 2013

June 2013 update

I thought I'd write a quick list of things that have taken place this year:

  • Completed vocal recordings for the Liberty N' Justice band album (at least I thought so...2 more in the works)
  • 10 new clients
  • Full album recordings with Brannon and Marty and the Bad Punch
  • Working on new material with Jeff Hamel of Majestic
  • New music with Steven Kolb of February Fallen
  • Recorded vocals on 2 songs for the Russ Festival in Norway
  • 2 songs that I've sung on for Jonathon Brannon have done well in VH1's "Song of the Year: Songwriting Competition" - "Let It Go" was a Runner Up award winner, and "Hero" was a finalist in the Hip Hop category.
  • First single for Marty and the Bad Punch, "Troubleshooter" made it to #1 on (Germany) single song downloads in Blues category.
  • LnJ's "4-All: Best of LnJ 2" will be released later this year and features me on 5 tracks: 4 completely new songs, and one other - "The Greatest" from The Cigar Chronicles.
Thanks for reading, and please check out some of my latest music below.


Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Liberty n' Justice "The Cigar Chronicles" Review

I’m honored to be one of the first to have listened to Liberty N’ Justice’s soon-to-be released double-disc 26-song opus “The Cigar Chronicles:  Volume 1 & 2.” This album features the talents of Justin Murr , JK Northrup, and CJ Snare, along with approximately 70 guest musicians from bands such as Guns N’ Roses, Firehouse, Warrant, LA Guns, Winger, Quiet Riot, Cinderella, Twisted Sister, Great White, Nelson, Alice Cooper, Stryper,  Slaughter …the list goes on and on. This truly is a rock collaboration unlike any other.

The first volume includes 13 unlikely cover songs of past pop and rock hits. These cleverly constructed arrangements by Northrup and Murr are sure to have you singing along with MMMBop and rockin’ out to Ice Ice Baby.  All of these covers are respectable, but a few standout tracks for me are (in no particular order):
  • “I Can’t Dance”  
  • “Queen of the Night” 
  • “Iris” 
  • “Ice Ice Baby”  
  • “Pride (In The Name Of Love)” 
  • “Stayin’ Alive” 
  • “YMCA”
The second volume consists of 13 original songs written by Justin Murr and JK Northrup (with additional co-writing help from Gunnar Nelson on “Cupid’s Gonna Bleed” and Rick Stitch on “Sucker Punched”).  Now, one might think that a collection of original songs wouldn’t be capable of measuring up to an album full of proven hits, but that’s not the case here. Murr and Northrup churn out hit after hit after hit. A few highlights (which exclude the song I provided vocals on, “The Greatest,” - obviously a hit) are:
  •  “Devil His Dues”
  •  “Under Construction”
  •  “Cupid’s  Gonna Bleed”
  •  “Sucker Punched”
  •  “Sin”
  •  “Daddy Long Legs'

A few notes

CJ Snare mixed/mastered Volume 1 (covers)
JK Northrup mixed/mastered Volume 2 (originals)

Mucho kudos to JK Northup for being such a huge part of the production, performances, and success of this album!

And good luck to Mr. LnJ himself, Justin Murr, trying to top this masterpiece. Actually, fans won’t have to wait too long following “The Cigar Chronicles” before another magnificent chapter for Liberty n’ Justice unveils :) 

Come support Liberty n' Justice here: Liberty n' Justice official facebook page

View track listing and musicians involved here:  "The Cigar Chronicles" track listing

Saturday, August 11, 2012

I've just completed my 2nd kid's song (Quetzalcoatlus), and I've enjoyed writing these 1st two so much that I think I'll go ahead and create enough songs to put together a whole children's album, continuing with the Prehistoric animal theme. It may take half a year or so - depending on the flow of my creative juices - but it'll be worth it. For now, you and your kids can enjoy my first two kid's tunes below.

Perry the Parasaurolophus