Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Liberty n' Justice "The Cigar Chronicles" Review

I’m honored to be one of the first to have listened to Liberty N’ Justice’s soon-to-be released double-disc 26-song opus “The Cigar Chronicles:  Volume 1 & 2.” This album features the talents of Justin Murr , JK Northrup, and CJ Snare, along with approximately 70 guest musicians from bands such as Guns N’ Roses, Firehouse, Warrant, LA Guns, Winger, Quiet Riot, Cinderella, Twisted Sister, Great White, Nelson, Alice Cooper, Stryper,  Slaughter …the list goes on and on. This truly is a rock collaboration unlike any other.

The first volume includes 13 unlikely cover songs of past pop and rock hits. These cleverly constructed arrangements by Northrup and Murr are sure to have you singing along with MMMBop and rockin’ out to Ice Ice Baby.  All of these covers are respectable, but a few standout tracks for me are (in no particular order):
  • “I Can’t Dance”  
  • “Queen of the Night” 
  • “Iris” 
  • “Ice Ice Baby”  
  • “Pride (In The Name Of Love)” 
  • “Stayin’ Alive” 
  • “YMCA”
The second volume consists of 13 original songs written by Justin Murr and JK Northrup (with additional co-writing help from Gunnar Nelson on “Cupid’s Gonna Bleed” and Rick Stitch on “Sucker Punched”).  Now, one might think that a collection of original songs wouldn’t be capable of measuring up to an album full of proven hits, but that’s not the case here. Murr and Northrup churn out hit after hit after hit. A few highlights (which exclude the song I provided vocals on, “The Greatest,” - obviously a hit) are:
  •  “Devil His Dues”
  •  “Under Construction”
  •  “Cupid’s  Gonna Bleed”
  •  “Sucker Punched”
  •  “Sin”
  •  “Daddy Long Legs'

A few notes

CJ Snare mixed/mastered Volume 1 (covers)
JK Northrup mixed/mastered Volume 2 (originals)

Mucho kudos to JK Northup for being such a huge part of the production, performances, and success of this album!

And good luck to Mr. LnJ himself, Justin Murr, trying to top this masterpiece. Actually, fans won’t have to wait too long following “The Cigar Chronicles” before another magnificent chapter for Liberty n’ Justice unveils :) 

Come support Liberty n' Justice here: Liberty n' Justice official facebook page

View track listing and musicians involved here:  "The Cigar Chronicles" track listing


  1. Replies
    1. Hopefully by the end of this year. If not, early next year. Thanks for asking!